Sex Trafficking Text

Journiey Herdman

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






WARNING: Everyone if you get a text that says, “Someone has complimented you! See more on IRL: IOS: and android: URLS.” Do not click on the URL or download anything; it is a scam, and it is connected to sex trafficking. If you click on the links, they can download all of the things you do on your phone, get everyone else’s information, and text them as well. They usually send the complimented text to a few at a time, in the same area, and then you may not get one until a few days. I asked a few people what they thought about the text they were getting. I asked Raquel Nelson what she thought, she said, “At first I didn’t understand what it was, but I did not open it. Then I got it again and was a little worried.” I also asked Brandee Kelsey, and she said, “I would never click on a link that I did not sign up for. I think no one should open them.”

One day after journalism class while checking phones, students and Mrs. Jensen all received the text at the same time. Be aware of what you do on your phone, and always ignore something that seems odd. Be safe!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email